The town of Hazel Green was named by United States President Andrew Jackson. Jackson named the town “Hazel Green” because the hazel bushes along the road were of a vibrant green color. Hazel Green was once an incorporated town in the early-19th century, but was later unincorporated. Several farmers from Georgia and Carolina moved to Hazel Green when they discovered that the area had some of the richest soil in all the South. A post office was built in 1819 on the southeast corner of the intersection now known as Hwy. 231-431 & Joe Quick Road. Several grocers and rest stops were built along this intersection, also. It became a bustling community and incorporated into a town on June 15, 1821 by an act of the state legislature with a population of approximately 400.
After the rich soil had been used by the farmers, everyone suddenly moved away and Hazel Green was then unincorporated. At the time, Hazel Green was a small, rural community that served a crossroads. Roads connected Hazel Green with Athens to the west, Winchester, TN to the east, Huntsville to the south, and Nashville to the north. These roads intersected at what is now known as the intersection of US Highway 231/431, Joe Quick Road, and West Limestone Road. The post office was moved in the 1980s to the building it is currently using. The former post office building was destroyed for commercial development.